There are different kinds of people and roles that you can add to your organization:

Team member - this account is recommended for everyone on your team. People who are team members can access the app themselves. There are three roles available:

  • owner - that’s the only role that has access to billing, integrations and the general settings of the organization. This role is recommended for the higher management. The person that creates an organization is given the owner role by default. 
  • manager - as the name suggests, it’s the role dedicated for people who should be able to manage other employees (project managers, team leaders, etc.). Managers can add and edit bookings as well as time entries of the regular team members. They can also accept vacation requests and edit vacations and holidays. Finally, they can add more people to the organization and create new projects. 
  • regular - regular team member is a role created for employees, the ones who are booked on projects. There’s an employee-dedicated dashboard where your employees can manage their availability, check the upcoming assignments or send vacation requests. Teamdeck’s time tracker is also available for regular team members so there’s no need for the managers to fill out the timesheets - it happens automatically when regular employees track their time.  

Basic resource (available in Business Plan only) - this is a person that doesn’t have access to the app but is listed on the schedule and timesheets. It is usually used for freelancers, who don’t need, for example, to manage their vacations via teamdeck. It can be used for your regular employees if, for some reason, you don’t need them to access the app. 

See this infographic for a visual explanation of people and roles within Teamdeck:

CHANGING TEAM MEMBERS' ROLES

As a manager or owner you can change peoples' roles in Settings -> People. Click on a given person and open the Team member settings section. 

If you're a manager you can upgrade regular team members to managers or downgrade other managers to regular team members.

If you're an owner you can upgrade and downgrade all team members.

NOTE: If you're the sole owner at your organization, you cannot downgrade yourself. There has to be at least one owner at each organization. Upgrade another team member to owner and then you can downgrade your permissions.

Did this answer your question?