Managing availability periods
Availability is the period during which an employee is available to work for on a given day. It’s especially useful for part-time employees who don’t work in regular timeslots.
Note: in order to be able to add availability for a given person you need to mark “can specify hourly availability” in their profile. Go to Settings > People to do this.
Resources’ availability is displayed in the Calendar as grey cells. Full time employees’ availability is also displayed but it’s not editable. Managers and owners can manage the availability of part time team members.
When you hover over part timers’ availability periods there are different icons visible:
- Status - Pending for availability that haven’t yet been accepted, and Accepted for availability accepted by one of the managers/owner or added in advance (more on the second option here).
- View more opens a drawer with detailed info about this availability (you can also click on this availability to see more details).
- Trash bin icon is where you can click if you want to delete an availability.
An availability can be added by a team member themselves or entered into the Calendar by a manager/owner. This is how to add availabilities to the Calendar:
Scroll to the person/resource you want to add the availability to. Hover over an appropriate day click the plus icon that appears on hover. A drawer will appear where you can add more info about your time entry.
The person and date will already be preselected, but you can edit that data.
Then, enter availability periods (there can be more than one per day).
When you’re done, click save.
You can remove availabilities from the Calendar by clicking on the trash bin icon - visible when you hover over an availability or click on it. Managers and owners can edit or remove any availabilities of the part time team members.
Part-time employees can define their own availability. When they edit their availability after a certain deadline, they also send you (and other managers if you have them in your organization) a request that has to be accepted or rejected.
NOTE: You can define this deadline (called editing user’s availability: min. advance period) in Settings > Organization.
You will be notified about such request via the bell icon in the top right corner of the app.